January 26, 2015

“Aspergers” in the media

Posted in Uncategorized at 4:15 pm by merelyquirky

More and more television programs feature characters portrayed as Asper-like. Though not officially characters with ASD, some actors do comment that they keep Aspergers traits in mind when they make their acting choices. Some characters are, in ASD circles, presumed to be on the spectrum.

My personal reaction is ambivalent. Sometimes I resent the appropriation for entertainment value, and sometimes I am so happy to feel even vaguely represented that I will even forgive that these characters are the butt of so many jokes on the shows. Then I realize how much that is real life, and I am just jealous that the characters have a stable group of friends or colleagues who accept them as they are.

As Viola Davis commented after her recent Screen Actors Guild award win:

We want to see ourselves. We want to be inspired by that. I sometimes want the fantasy, but more often than not, I want reality. I want to feel less alone when I look at TV.”

(Link to that article here.)

Leave a Reply

